The Board of ISQua makes awards from time to time in recognition of individuals or organisations that have made contributions to ISQua, and/or to the field of quality and safety in health care. There are two classes of awards.

ISQua Board Awards

Lifetime Membership Award

The Lifetime Membership Award recognises eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree of individuals in service to ISQua and, through that service, the enhancement of quality and safety in health care at large, or such achievement and merit directly in the field of quality improvement. A person can be nominated for life membership if she/he has been a member of ISQua for five consecutive years or longer and has made a significant contribution to any of the ISQua programmes. The Awardee can be nominated by any Member or Board Member. 

Brian Johnston Australia
Bruce Barracloug Australia
Chris Brook Australia
John Best Australia
Lee Tregloan Australia
Peter Carter Australia
Phil Hassen Canada
Elma Heidemann Canada
Triona Fortune Ireland
Austin Leahy Ireland
Roisin Boland Ireland
Evert Reerink Netherlands
Rosa Sunol Spain
Ferdinand Siem Tjam Switzerland
Tracey Cooper UK
Charles D Shaw UK
David Bates USA
Heather Palme USA
John Helfrick USA
William Jessee USA
Sheila Leatherman USA
Hannu Vuori Vietnam

Presidential Citation for Distinguished Service
(previously known as Distinguished Services Award)

The Presidential Citation for Distinguished Service recognises conspicuous contributions to the purposes of ISQua or the facilitation of those purposes in any particular activity of ISQua, and can be awarded to an individual Member or Institutional Member. The individual or organisation can be nominated by any Member or Board Member. The award will take the form of a citation to recognise the contributions to quality and safety in health care.

The individual or organisation will have to:

  • Show demonstrable leadership in quality improvement, patient safety, person-centred care and/or external evaluation
  • Have made significant contribution in research and/or service delivery and improvement
  • Have actively contributed to delivering the mission of ISQua
  • Show active support of ISQua programmes.

Presidential Citation for Distinguished Service Award

Presented in recognition of valuable and dedicated contributions to ISQua.

NameCountryYear of Award
Barbara Donaldson New Zealand 2008
Chris Brook Australia 2009
Thomas Pernege Switzerland 2009
Helene Beaard Netherlands 2013
Eric Schneider USA 2014
Bruce Barraclough Australia 2016
Duncan Inverarity Ireland 2016
Rene Amalberti France 2018
Shelia Leatherman USA 2019
Janne Lehmann Knudsen Denmark 2019
Clifford Hughes Australia 2020

Editorial Board Awards

The Reizenstein Award

The Editorial Board of the International Journal for Quality in Health Care makes one award each year for the best paper published in the journal. The Reizenstein Award is named after Peter Reizenstein, ISQua's first president and the founding editor of the International Journal for Quality in Health Care.


To be announced


Owili P, Muga M, Mendez B, & Chen B, (2018). Quality of care in six sub-Saharan Africa countries: a provider-based study on adherence to WHO’s antenatal care guideline. International Journal For Quality In Health Care, 31(1), 43-48.


Hibbert PD, Thomas MJW, Deakin A, Runciman WB, Braithwaite J, Lomax S, Prescott J, Gorrie G, Szczygielski A, Surwald T, Fraser C. Are root cause analyses recommendations effective and sustainable? An observational study. Int J Qual Health Care. 2018 Mar 1;30(2):124-131.


Theobald CN, Resnick MJ, Spain T, Dittus RS, Roumie CL. A multifaceted quality improvement strategy reduces the risk of catheter-associated urinary tract infection Int J Qual Health Care. 2017 Aug 1;29(4):564-570


Krahwinkel W, Schuler E, Liebetrau M, Meier-Hellmann A, Zacher J, Kuhlen R; For the HELIOS Medical Board and HELIOS Working Group on Peer Reviewing. The effect of peer review on mortality rates. Int J Qual Health Care. 2016 Oct;28(5):594-600. -600.


Falstie-Jensen AM, Larsson H, Hollnagel E, Nørgaard M, Svendsen ML, Johnsen SP. Compliance with hospital accreditation and patient mortality: a Danish nationwide population-based study. Int J Qual Health Care. 2015 Jun;27(3):165-74.